Oceans

It was September 2013 when Michaela first recommended this song to us.  Knowing that we were taking a huge step of faith, selling most of our possessions and leaving everything that was familiar and comfortable to us, she knew that it would speak to our hearts.

OCEANS (Where Feet May Fail)
You call me out upon the water,
the great unknown, where feet may fail,
and there I find you in the mystery,
in oceans deep my faith will stand 
 
And I will call upon Your name
and keep my eyes above the waves
when oceans rise
my soul will rest in Your embrace
for I am Yours and You are mine.
 
Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand will be my guide
where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now
 
Spirit, lead me where my trust is without borders
let me walk upon the waters
wherever You would call me
take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
and my faith will be made stronger
in the presence of My Savior

 

I cried the first time I listened to the words of this song, as we were packing up and getting ready to say goodbye to friends and family and move to the other side of the country.
Tears streamed down my face a couple of months later when we sang this song in a church service, as we sought the courage to take a risk and stand up for Truth.
And then again a month later, as our hears lay open and wounded, struggling to understand how people’s actions could cause such hurt.
Four months later, as we stood in church singing this song, we found ourselves at a place of trying to grasp what God had planned for our life.  Our hearts were broken and we were completely at His mercy.
digital pictures 2006 047
 And then, we heard it again a couple of months ago.  We thought we possibly knew what God had planned for us, but in this past year, we’ve learned enough about a life of following after Him to know that it is indeed the great unknown.  If there is any peace to be had in this world, it is resting in His embrace, with our eyes fixed on Him and not on the uncertainty around us.
I’m so thankful that our dear girl and the wisdom she had in connecting our hearts with this song, knowing that it would give us the courage to live through a very difficult year.
Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

