five things I can do to make worship a priority

“As Jesus and His disciples were on their way,
He came to a village where a woman named
Martha opened her home to Him.  She had a sister 
called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what
He said.  But Martha was distracted by all the preparations
that had to be made. She came to Him and asked,
‘Lord, don’t You care that my sister has left me 
to do the work by myself?  Tell her to help me!’
‘Martha, Martha,’ the Lord answered, ‘you are worried and upset
about many things, but few things are needed-or indeed only one. 
Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”
Luke 10:38-42
 
  1. Plan for it.  Put spending time in God’s Word into my schedule.  Cease my busyness in order to create this time.
  2. Get up early enough to make it a quiet time, where my heart can focus wholly on God.  (in other words, when the kiddos are sleeping or even napping in the afternoon, if morning isn’t your best time)
  3. Create a worshipful atmosphere in the house-inspirational art or Scripture verses on the wall, playing worship music
  4. Set goals for Scripture memorization.
  5. Engage myself wholly in prayer.  Start a prayer journal to keep a record of the ways in which God is answering prayers and speaking to my heart.

{written in 2001: Last night, I wasn’t feeling well and so I took some ibuprofen and planned on reading in bed until I fell asleep.  I was planning on reading a fiction book, but was prompted to spend time in my Bible study and simply reading the Scriptures.  It was a wonderful time and I found that I have an intense desire to read the words of Jesus.  I found myself imagining that  Jesus was speaking to me in Luke 10:41.  “Nicki, Nicki, you are worried and bothered about so many things; but only a few are necessary.  Really, only one…choose the good part, which will not be taken away from you!”}

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

