A Lavish Love

Lavish: (adj) sumptuously rich, elaborate, or luxurious

To lavish: (verb) to bestow something in generous or extravagant quantities upon.

I have been thinking a lot about the word “lavish” over the past week.  During this season of celebrating the birth of our Savior, there are donors who so generously gift our children here.  They lavish gifts upon our children who truly have a hard time grasping the idea of a giving type of love.  Many have never had a Christmas present in their lives.

When I first heard about all that the children received, I was a little worried about how it affected them; that it would actually contribute to the sense of entitlement that so many in this world struggle with.

And then, I remembered this verse.

See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that

we should be called children of God.”

God lavishes his love on me.  He bestows His love on me, generously and extravagantly.  He doesn’t hold back because He worries that I might take it for granted.  In fact, He pours His love onto me, knowing full well that there are times that I do, sadly, take it for granted.  He is a Father who loves to give His children gifts, and I see evidence of that all around me.

So, while I still need to work with our boys on cultivating gratitude, appreciation and generosity, I am going to thoroughly enjoy watching our children have gifts lavished upon them.  And I am going to let it be a reminder of how God lavishly loves me.  Deserving or not, it is His nature to love and to give.  I pray that those character qualities will be lived out in my life, and someday, in the lives of the boys that we are raising.

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only Son”

Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!”

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

