In His Presence…Day Ten

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 3:53am

Well, I love getting up early, but I was hoping that I would get another hour of sleep.  Oh, well!  Will remember to take another melatonin tonight, so my back doesn’t wake me up too early tomorrow!!

So many people on my mind as I woke up this morning.  People that need Your healing touch, people that simply need You, friends that need the strength to keep putting one foot in front of the other…Lord, make each of these people that I have been praying for aware of Your presence and Your power.  Draw them close to You and either open their eyes to the salvation You offer, or remind them of Your promises to them in this day.

I also woke up thinking about all that I am involved in.  Haven’t thought about that for a while.  I must be starting to feel better!  Lord, I thank You-I truly do-for these weeks of being sick.  My heart breaks for poor L, who has been sick for so much longer, I can’t imagine.  But, I am thankful for this time You gave me.  I’ve often talked about just holding time still to give me a minute to think about everything and try to catch up in my mind with what is going on in my life, and though time didn’t stop, You certainly gave me a pause.  A Sabbath for my body, soul and spirit.

While I know that I have committed to not putting anything on the calendar through the month of February, You made it so simple for me the first couple of weeks.  I did have to say no a couple of times, not easy, but I know it is what I was supposed to do.  Going forward, I am still trying to find a frame for the picture of my life.  What are the boundaries that are healthy for me to put up?  This is so hard for me to even think about!!!!

I need Your wisdom, Lord.  You promise me in the book of James that if any one asks for wisdom, not wavering, You will give it to them.  So this is me, asking for Your wisdom.  I know that You have thoughts about this, and maybe Your heart’s desire is for me to truly lean in to listen to You and ask myself on a situation by situation basis “Father, is this what You want me to do”, but You also created me.  You know I run best on a track, and so I am asking that You give me a track to run on.  Some guidelines that I can use in filtering all the opportunities that come my/our way.

Chris asked me yesterday how it was to blog through the book of Leviticus.  And you know the dread that my heart was feeling as I realized this is the book I would be reading during this month.  But, You are faithful to show me something about Yourself in this book.  I have loved it.  I was wondering about using a different reading plan, preparing for Easter, starting tomorrow.  Not sure-want to look at it, but also need Your wisdom.  I don’t know that I have the time to do both, and I see the beauty of both reading plans, so I would just love Your thoughts.  What does my heart need over the next 6 weeks?

Lord, put a guard over my home, my heart and my mind as I open my Bible and read today.  Help me to see You in what I read.  Teach my heart, and give me the opportunities to put into practice what I read and learn.  I do not want to be only a hearer, but I want to be a doer.  I love You, and I want to reflect You!!!

Leviticus 18-19

I understand most of chapter 18-no questions as to the whys or what-fors.  He told them “don’t do as they did in the Egypt…don’t do as they are going to do in Canaan”  Do/don’t do what I am telling You now.  Stick to what I say, and You will live.  “I am the LORD, Your God.  Keep my decrees and laws, for whoever obeys them will live by them.  I am the LORD.”  vs 4b-5

But as I go into chapter 19, and start reading, I am asking myself.  How do we know which laws we are still supposed to follow, and which we are not?

I understand that sacrificial laws no longer apply.  Jesus was the last sacrifice offered, because His sacrifice was perfect, pure, and complete.  But here, You are telling Moses “Do not go about spreading slander among your people.”  and then four verses later, “Do not wear clothing made of two kinds of material“.   You say “Do not practice divination or seek omens” and the next verse says, “Do not cut the hair at the sides of your head or clip off the edges of your beard.”

The first commands I understand, I get it, Jesus taught about those things when He was here on earth.  But what about the second examples?  Mixing materials or cutting one’s hair or beard?  We do those things all the time in this day.   I know we are not under the law anymore.  Are we supposed to live by those things which were not only in the law, but that You also continued to teach when You were here?  Or that You told us specifically that something had changed?  I can see where so much confusion comes in when we are not getting to know Your entire Scripture.

Paul told Timothy (2 Timothy 3:15b-17) that “from infancy you have known the Holy Scriptures (which, at that time, was the Older Testament), which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.  All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that all God’s people may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”  So, how do I know which parts to hold tightly to, and which to consider “of the past”?

This is the reason that people judge one another and local churches pop up all over.  Because we all have different ideas as to what is “following Your commands”  and what is “disobedience”.  Oh, for clarity, and then unity with one another!

Give me Your wisdom as I dig in, so that I will hold tightly to the things which are from You and hold very loosely to my own ideas.

Psalm 13

How long, O Lord?  Will You forget me forever?“…”How long must I wrestle with my thoughts, and day after day have sorrow in my heart?

Oh, yes-I remember times that I have felt like that.  That circumstance that had my stomach in knots and my heart hurting desperately-I remember this last time so well.  It still hurts when I dwell on it-when I start thinking about why it happened, and what I want to happen.  I would still love to see change come about.  But there is nothing that I can do-my hands are tied in this situation, and I think my peace is because I truly do believe what is written in verses 5-6.

But I trust in Your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in Your salvation.  I will sing the LORD’s praise, for He has been good to me.”

These words are truth, and I want to live based on truth instead of on what I am feeling.  Although You know that a lot of the time, my feelings do line up with Your truths, there are those times when I have not felt like the promises that I claimed.  And I know that resting (truly resting) in Your promises is one of the things that leads to peace in my heart.  And I need Your peace.

You love me, You never will stop.  There is nothing that I can ever do to change Your love for me.

You have saved me!!!  If this is all I had to cling to, it would still be enough.  I know that I have an eternity with You set before me.  I never again have to worry about being banished from presence forever.  Oh, that is peace and joy!!!

You know all my favorite songs that I like to put on when I am going through a rough time.  Especially the one that reminds me that You inhabit the praises of Your people.  (Psalm 22)   I know this to be true, and I think that praising You during the difficult times is sweeter than praising You during the times of refreshing and rejoicing.  I say this, and then I think that actually, the hard times are often the times of refreshing.  You are like a wave that gently washes over me, cooling me off and cleaning me up.  Or maybe I just feel it more because of being in the heat of battle.

You have been good to me.  When I am having a “down” day,  it doesn’t take long for my heart to change as I start to remember all the many different ways in which You have been good to me.  You have blessed me in so many ways, and there is really nothing like pulling me out of a hard time than to start listing all the things that I am thankful for.

Acts 19

Paul gets a chance to go back to Ephesus and ends up spending over two years there, having daily discussions about the kingdom of God.  A few things that I found interesting were:

vs 2-the word translated “believed” is the word “emunah”, meaning firm action…firm action towards God’s will.  It is not so much a faith in one’s mind, but more of a faith that results in action.  Paul asks the disciples “Did you receive the Holy Spirit when you came to {emunah}?”  And they said that no, they did not even know about a Holy Spirit.  They told him they were baptized with John’s baptism.  What I understand is that John’s baptism was of repentance looking forward to Christ?  or saying “yes, I believe that the Messiah is on His way.” After Paul explained that what John had preached had come to pass-the Messiah had come, had died, was buried and rose again,  they wanted to be baptized into Christ, and so, Paul baptized them (full body immersion) in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ.  Then Paul placed his hands on them and the Holy Spirit came on them.  Why does it say it this way?  If we are given the Holy Spirit as a seal automatically at salvation, why did Paul need to place his hands on them?  Or is this something different?   I need better understanding.  Lord, please teach me.

Okay, now that I have been awake for three hours, I am ready to go back to bed.  But, too late!  The kids will be getting up soon.  I should rest this morning, trying to be careful to not overdo it.  Don’t want to have a relapse!  Lord, as I think about what I have read today, I feel like I have more questions than answers.  I have so much to learn about You.  I will today be claiming Psalm 13:5-6.  Even though I’m a tad overwhelmed by what I read,  I will…

“trust in Your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in Your salvation.

I will sing the Lord’s praise, for He has been good to me.”

 

 

 

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

