In His Presence…Day Seven

We are hoping to “de-germify” our bedroom today, so the window is open and the sheets are being washed.  It will be lovely to crawl back into sheets that I know have been sanitized and free from the germs that got me sick.  But, my goal for today is to hang out with my family downstairs.  I’m pretty sure I mentioned that I’ve quarantined myself in hopes of protecting my family from this flu.  I’m pretty sure that I am getting better, so I’m hoping it’s safe!  : )

Today, I want to share with you something that my friend, Lindsey,  wrote to our Life Group in response to a renewed commitment to truly spend time in God’s Word…not just a check-it-off-my-list kind of thing, but a jump-in-with-both-feet and hang-on-with-both-hands type of communion with God.  Wholehearted.  I hope that you are as blessed by her thoughts as I was!

I hate confronting my inner feelings. Its like forcing your way into a new job that you know you’re going to hate and feel bad at the end of that day of work. God tends to heal sometimes whether you like it or not.
I memorized a new verse this week and even though its short I am still excited about it because this time as I let God in I am really LISTENING!
Luke 18:27 “What is impossible with man is possible with God”
I just love that. A couple months ago I told M she needed to get into God’s word and prioritize…………(wait a second as I choke on my own words lol). Little did I know I was speaking the words to her, but in reality I was talking to myself and didn’t know it.
The last two weeks I really been letting God speak into my heart. It’s made me happier and more pleasant to be around. I have become more outspoken which in some cases I hate because some deal with emotions that no one needs to know or I don’t want then to know.
God is Amazing!
As I have walked into each day and ended each day I can’t help, but sing Great I Am. Its my song right now.
The mountains shake before You- The demons run and flee at the mention of the name-King of majesty-there is NO POWER in hell or any who can stand before the power and the presence of the Great I Am-the Great I am.  What powerful words and each time I sing this now I feel a weight lift.
It really does make a difference to make time for his Word. It’s amazing what he does when you give him the time he deserves. If we have a busy week and realize God time isn’t in there, then we need take a hard look at what needs done and doesn’t. He woke me up to that. Mine was “do you need to check Facebook before work or give me at least 15 minutes or more before you start your day?”
I always pray in the morning, but then instantly checked Facebook and forgot what I just prayed. I also found him asking me “is that nap after work more important than getting closer to me?” ” Two or three missed naps won’t kill you, you will sleep tonight” is what I keep thinking.  It’s all a matter of prioritizing!
And now each morning I do a Bible reading plan and it really helps me go through the day. I have to force myself because I am not a morning person, but I am starving for more of his Word. I can either make excuses why not to read and stay in the same rut, or listen to him and give up a few minutes of sleep, or an hour.
I have to stop relying on people to teach me and dig into the Word myself, no matter how hard. I am fighting my demons and kicking them out. I just had to share what I am learning. N, the night at choir you truly helped me and mom by what you shared and ever since then its like I am wide awake and ready to prioritize and focus.
I am READY TO LIVE NOT BY MY UNDERSTANDING!!
I love God so much and not because he has healed me in many ways and set me free, but because he is God!
Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

