A Trip Down Memory Lane

I’ve been starting to feel a little better, so today I thought I would do something different.  I made the bed.  And then I proceeded to move my clean clothes into the room where my closet is. By this time, it was hurting to breathe, so I thought I would sit back down and go through a container of “memory stuff” that we brought up from the basement a few weeks ago.  As I pulled out item after item, I would go from laughing to crying.  And back to laughing again.  I had a whole lifetime of memories piled in front of me on my bed.

My Layette
My Layette
Clothes that I wore as a newborn
Clothes that I wore as a newborn
A baby "know-how" book, and other things that my mom saved from when I was little
A baby “know-how” book, and other things that my mom saved from when I was little
a Mother's Day card that I made for my mom when I was 5 or 6
a Mother’s Day card that I made for my mom when I was 5 or 6
a sweater that my grandma crocheted-she made one for each of us
a sweater that my grandma crocheted-she made one for each of us
birthday present when I was nine.  This towel has been all over Bolivia, South America...from lazy days at the river to flash floods.
birthday present when I was nine. This towel has been all over Bolivia, South America…from lazy days at the river to flash floods.
growing up in a boarding school, each piece of clothing had to have our name on it.  I did NOT love sewing on name tags every year!
growing up in a boarding school, each piece of clothing had to have our name on it. I did NOT love sewing on name tags every year!
I loved taking Spanish...I loved speaking the language and I loved the people that spoke it.
I loved taking Spanish…I loved speaking the language and I loved the people that spoke it.
a highlight of my senior year was being a teacher's aide for 3 and 4th grade!
a highlight of my senior year was being a teacher’s aide for 3 and 4th grade!
bad map of South America-but I loved this class.  I loved learning the ancient history of South America
bad map of South America-but I loved this class. I loved learning the ancient history of South America
Mementos from my senior year
Mementos from my senior year
Wedding Day
Wedding Day
my 18 year old wearing the veil I wore when I was just a year older than her
my 18 year old wearing the veil I wore when I was just a year older than her
Wedding Vows
Wedding Vows
a gift from my siblings!  We used these little cuties to decorate the cake table!
a gift from my siblings! We used these little cuties to decorate the cake table!
Ticket Stubs, Park Maps, Etc from our honeymoon to Disney World and Universal Studios
Ticket Stubs, Park Maps, Etc from our honeymoon to Disney World and Universal Studios

I slowly and carefully packed up all these things, placing them back into the storage container.  I would love to keep some of them out, but as we are most likely moving in a few months, I might as well wait.

I cleaned off my bed, and lay back down with two shoe boxes (that I covered in contact paper almost 23 years ago to make them look pretty) full of letters.  Most of the letters were letters that my parents and siblings had sent to me from Bolivia, while I was going to school here in the USA.  There were also some letters from my husband, written during our dating period and when we were first married.

letters and photographs...some bringing laughter and some bringing tears
letters and photographs…some bringing laughter and some bringing tears

Tears flowed today.  Some tears were of sadness, or regret.  Some tears were of laughter (one of my sisters wrote of her disgust upon reading about Clark Gable’s bad breath and completely understanding why Vivian Leigh kept turning her head away in the movie “Gone with the Wind”) Some tears were simply because I was touched at their love for me.  There were some moments when my heart ached for days gone by.  But in the end, as I packed up these letters into their little boxes, I felt like I had breathed a deep sigh and I can say, it’s all good.  Thank You, Lord.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

