In His Presence…day five

photo(12)

Thursday, February 7th, 2013 9:01am

Another day.  Although it still hurts to breathe, it is getting easier.  I’m taking that as a sign that I am getting better.  William told me today that the house is a wreck.  That’s a hard one…I’m tempted to get down there and start cleaning.  Ha!  I’m sure I wouldn’t get far, but it is a reminder to me to take it easy and let my body heal before I jump back into “what I do”.  Thinking about lots of things this morning, Lord.  Chris’ review, our finances, MJ’s future, L’s grief and M’s brother.  So many needs.  You are sovereign, Lord, and you allow things for a reason.  Help me to trust in Your ways, Your plan, but also in Your love.  What  a neat thing that Steve shared this morning on FB.  I believe that I need to grasp, (or believe?), Your love for me.  I feel like I have such tainted views of love.  And I want to understand how You feel about me.  So, please keep showing me.

Struggling with this blog thing.  Did I understand You correctly?  Ugh.  I don’t like being asked to do things I’m not comfortable with.  But I don’t want to bail on Your plan for me.  Just peace.  Please give me Your peace.

Reading Leviticus 4-6

Lord, I know You have Your reasons and this all makes sense to You, but it is hard to wrap my head around all the different offerings, and understand all the symbolism.  So, please teach me.

Sin Offering is for unintentional sin, doing what was forbidden by the Lord. Different offerings for different people.

Anointed priest-offer a young bull without defect-lay his hands on its head, blood in front of the curtain, on horns of incense altar, the rest on base of altar of burnt offering.  Fat and internal organs are burned on the altar.  The rest of the bull is to be burned outside the camp.

Whole community-when they realize their guilt, offer a young bull-elders lay their hands on its head, blood in front of curtain, on horns of incense altar, the rest of the blood on the base of the altar of burnt offering.  Fat and internal organs are burned on the altar.  The rest of the bull is to be burned outside of the camp.

A leader-when he realizes his guilt and the sin he committed becomes known, offer a male goat without defect-he lays his hands on its head, blood on horns of the altar of burnt offering, the rest of the blood on the base of that same  altar.  All the fat is to be burned on the altar, and the meat is to be eaten by the priest who offered it.

Member of the community-when they realize their guilt and the sin they committed becomes known, offer a female goat without defect-lay their hands on its head, blood on the horns of the altar of burnt offering, the rest of the blood on the base of that same altar.  All the fat is to be burned on the altar, and the meat eaten by the priest who offered it.

or, can bring a lamb, a female without defect-lay their hands on its head, blood on the horns of the altar of burnt offering, rest of blood at the base of that same altar.  Fat is to be burned on the altar, and the meat eaten by the priest who offered it.

My brain isn’t smart enough for this, Lord!  More sacrifices, but I’m not quite sure what kind of offering they are:

Sin b/c of not speaking up when they should, unwittingly touching something unclean, thoughtlessly taking an oath, when they realize their guilt-offer a female lamb or goat.  If they cannot afford this, offer two doves or two young pigeons (one as sin offering, the other as burnt offering).  If they cannot afford this, offer a tenth of an ephah of finest flour (about  3 1/2 pounds)-without oil or incense-because it is a sin offering.  A portion will be burnt on the altar, the rest will go to the priest, just as in a grain offerings.  (no blood?)  These are sin offerings.

Guilt offering-when one sinned unintentionally in regards to the Lord’s holy things (I’m assuming those things which are part of the tabernacle and courtyard)-offer a ram, without defect, from the flock.  Worth the same as what was touched, and treated inappropriately?  Plus, they must make restitution, pay an additional penalty (1/5 of the value of its value)-all this given to the priest.

Another guilt offering-if one sins and does what is forbidden, even if they do not know it.  When they become aware of their guilt, they are to bring a ram, without defect and of proper value, from their flock, and the priest will offer it as a guilt offering.

Deceiving a neighbor about something entrusted to them, or cheating a neighbor-return what was stolen, or lost, or taken, or entrusted to them-make restitution in full, add a fifth of its value, and give it to the owner the same day as they present their guilt offering, which would be a ram, without defect and of proper value, from their flock.

Burnt offerings-always a fire to be going in the altar of burnt offering.  What is they symbolism of constant fire burning in this altar?  I have thoughts, but not sure if they are related or just coincidence.  Strict regulations about the proper attire to remove ashes from the altar.

Grain offerings-portion of grain offering, mixed with oil and incense, burned on the altar of burnt offering.  Aaron and his sons eat the rest-must be eaten in the courtyard.  Holy unto the Lord, only descendants of Aaron can eat it.  (I Samuel 21-David and his men eat consecrated bread from the temple)  The grain offerings that Aaron and his sons were to offer were to be completely burned (no setting aside some for themselves) The entire thing belonged to the Lord.

Sin offerings-offered on behalf of the people, the meat was to be eaten by Aaron and his sons.  Offered on behalf of Aaron or his sons, or the whole community, the entire offering was to be burnt.  (Anything whose blood was sprinkled in front of the curtain of the Holy Place was not to be eaten, but to be burnt entirely)

While I only have some ideas of the symbolism swimming around in my head, I am being deeply impressed with how seriously you take sin.  Although the offering has been made for us through Jesus Christ, it does not lessen the gravity of my humanity.  I should be all the more grateful for what You have done.

Acts 14

vs 1-the went “as usual” into the Jewish synagogue.  Even though Jews in other places were rejecting what they said, they did not write off everybody.  They kept trying.

vs 3-God “confirmed the message of His grace by enabling them to perform signs and wonders.”  Why are some so skeptical of miracles?  If God is the same yesterday, today and forever, why would He not enable some to perform signs and wonders.  Granted, I think that we have a very good understanding as we are so far out from Christ’s life, and we have all the Scriptures at our hands, but I don’t want to disqualify what some attest to.  Especially in other countries, where there is not the amount of “light” and “truth” that we have.

vs 9-I wonder how Paul saw that this man had the faith to be healed.  What was it about him?

vs 16-I love this verse.  “In the past, He {God} let all the nations go their own way.  Yet He has not left Himself without testimony.  He has shown kindness by giving you rain from heaven and crops in their seasons; He provides you with plenty of food and fills your hearts with joy.”  Even though You were working with the Jewish nation for all those years, You knew there was coming a day when You would turn to the Gentiles, and it’s almost as if You were saying “this is Me; the same one whose been taking care of you all these years.”  Like You wanted them to “recognize” you.

As I finish out this chapter, I just think of how Paul and Barnabas must have felt as they had to say goodbye to these new fellow Christians.  They knew the hostile environments that these people lived in, they encouraged them that “we must go through many hardships to enter the kingdom of heaven.”  I just think of what a precious moment that must have been as they appointed elders and “with prayer and fasting, committed them to the Lord”.  ‘

They finished the job that they were sent out to do.  I get the sense that it was a time of excitement and rejoicing. They had just come back from a “missionary journey”.  I doubt that’s what they called it at the time, but now they are with the people that sent them out.  “and they stayed there a long time with the disciples”.   It sounds very different from “furloughs” that people have nowadays.

Lots to ponder today.  Please keep speaking to my heart!

 

 

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

