In His Presence…day four

Oh, Lord Jesus, You are good to me.  Thank you for all the encouraging things of yesterday…moments of quiet and rest.  I must say, I don’t think I am good at being sick.  Day after day, this is no fun.  Please, please protect my family.  You know I’ve been trying desperately to keep myself quarantined in my room-so please honor my pleas and protect them from getting the flu.  Auntie Anna was so right what she said about how we pray for You to mold us into Your image, and then balk at Your methods.  I’m sorry for having a complaining heart about this.  I think part of it is that I feel guilty for being sick, and so I feel like I “shouldn’t” be sick.  The way that I can so easily listen to the enemy’s lies and accept them as truth is scary to me.  How desperately I need You and time in Your word, and friends that speak truth in my life, to show me what is Truth and what is a lie.  Although physically I’m hurting and miserable, I will rejoice that I am Yours, and I am in Your hands.  You have the power to heal me, and if You have something to accomplish in me by being sick, I will trust You.  I just don’t want to disregard what I know is Your work in my life.

Wow…sitting up and breathing at the same time is not easy right now.  But I feel committed to doing this, so please give me what strength I need.  I confess that as I head into the book of Leviticus, I have a little bit of dread inside of me.  I know that whenever I do studies about these things, I love it and I want to jump in and learn more.  But here I am on my own, and I’m afraid it’s gonna fly straight over my head.  And then, here you remind me that I am not on my own.  You have given me the Holy Spirit to teach me and guide me into all truth.  Where is that verse?  In John?  John 16:13  I thought there was another one about the Holy Spirit teaching us…

Leviticus 1-3

So many details and I’m not sure what they all mean.

Burnt offering-male without defect (Jesus was a male who was perfect), blood on sides of altar, all of it burnt on the altar

Grain offering-of the finest flour, without yeast (yeast was often associated with sin or hypocrisy in the New Testament.  Is this the symbolism?) The memorial portion goes to the LORD, the rest goes to Aaron and his sons.  And in verse 13, where they were told to season all their grain offerings with salt.  Why is that?  What is the symbolism?  Ask Alaina her thoughts on the salt.

Fellowship offerings-male or female animal without defect, blood on sides of altar, and a portion is burned on the altar…all the internal organs and the fat.  It says in vs 16 “All the fat is the LORD’S.”  What does the fat signify?  I really want to understand what the symbolism is here.  Please open my mind to understand, send someone along who can teach me.

Acts 13

Verse 2 “while they were worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said…”  the thought occurs to me that so often my focus is on “what am I supposed to do” and trying to figure it out.  But it was AS they were worshiping that God revealed His plan to them.  My focus always needs to be on You, Jesus.  I can spend all day searching for houses on the internet, but I do believe that You will answer me AS I am going about my life, worshiping You, focusing on You, seeking for You.  “Seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things will be added unto You.” Matthew 6:33  Lord, I see exactly what I’ve been doing.  I’ve been focusing on housing issues, and not on kingdom issues.  Lord, help me to fix my eyes on You, and let You bring me the solution to our housing needs.

I love the boldness that You gave to Paul in verse 9.  oh, my!  I can’t imagine doing that in this day and age.  He wasn’t worried about being politically correct-he was more concerned with being “Kingdom” correct.  Give me that kind of boldness-fill me with Your Spirit!!!

In verse 18, You said that You endured the conduct of the Israelites, that You “put up” with them.  Lord, are there areas in my life that You are “putting up” with me?  Please don’t let me abuse Your grace and mercy.

I know that when I read, I often wonder how in the world the Jewish people could not see who You were/are.  But I’m thankful that You chose me, and that You chose me to be born at a time where I can see in hindsight, and to me it is obvious who You are.  I think of our neighbors, do they believe that You are who You said You were?  I love verses 38-39:

“Therefore, my brothers and sisters, I want you to know that through Jesus the forgiveness of sins is proclaimed to you.  Through Him everyone who believes is set free from every sin, a justification you were not able to obtain under the law of Moses.”

I’m so thankful that my ability to come before You is not based on a certain day of the year, a certain human man, a kind of sacrifice.  I am so thankful that You offered Yourself up.  Once is all it took, and You did it for us all.  Even us Gentiles!  Thank You, Jesus, for doing that for me.  Let my heart be glad and let me honor Your word, just like the Gentiles who heard from Paul and Barnabas that You came for us, as well as for the Jewish nation.  Let me be filled with joy today and Your Holy Spirit.

I don’t know what to expect from today, but I do ask for plenty of rest, and for You to use the oil blend from Lana to heal my body and start giving me back my strength and health.  I need Your wisdom in schooling the boys, in what to do or not to do this weekend, I want to be wise.  But most of all, I want to be doing whatever it is that You want me to do.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

