over-commitment and priorities

Lately, I’ve been thinking lots about over-commitment and priorities-the difference between the ministries that You have intended for me and the opportunities that I take upon myself.  I’ve been feeling that “I am so busy that I run out of energy long before the day is over.” (the Worn Out Woman)  Lord, how do I take care not to take get over-involved in ministry?

For the month of February, I am putting myself on a “scheduling fast”.  No putting anything on the schedule for a whole month.  And at the end of February, before I add something to my calendar, I will prayerfully think through these five questions.

  1. How does this fit in with my priorities?
  2. Do I have the time, energy and resources to carry through with this project?
  3. How will this commitment affect those I love?
  4. What does my family think about me talking on another commitment?
  5. Can someone else do the job better than I could?
 Lord, please let my schedule reflect You and Your purposes for my life.

 

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

