The Rocking Chair Story

This story is just a glimpse of the ways that God is providing for us in the new ministry He is calling us into.

For the past month or so, I’ve been scanning Craigslist eagerly every day, checking for really good deals on items we might need for a baby or toddler.  In the past, I have found many good deals on there and have found it is a good way to use the money we have.

We have given the agency an idea of the ages we are open to taking, newborns up to 2 years old.  But we really have no idea of the ages or gender of the children we will have in our family.  How am I supposed to know what to collect and have ready?  I want to avoid impulse purchases, and I am hoping to stretch our dollars as far as I can.  So, I have done a lot of thinking, praying and searching.

For clothing needs, I have 12 paper bags set up behind my desk.  Each is labeled according to age and gender.  Girl 0-3, Boy 0-3, Girl 3-6, Boy 3-6….you get the picture.  For each bag, I hope to collect several onesies, some pajamas, a couple of outfits, socks and hats-just enough clothing to get me through a few days, so that I have time to search on Craigslist or thrift shops for appropriate clothing for Little One.  Eventually, these paper bags will be replaced with boxes that can be labeled and stored in the basement.  That way, at a moment’s notice, I can have a few items of clothing for whoever comes into our home.

As far as bigger items go, I am trying to be very selective.  Of course, Little One will need a place to sleep.  We found a very nice pack and play that has a bassinet option, and so we can use this for any age.

Someone we trust has given us a very nice carseat.  Another friend has given us a changing table and highchair.  We’ve been given an exersaucer, and other friends have offered clothing.  I keep thinking about a swing, but I will wait to see if that is something we will actually need.

Okay, back to the rocking chair story…

I’ve been looking for a rocking chair, preferably a glider rocker.  I figure that no matter what age child we have, Little One and I will be doing lots of crying and rocking together.  Last Thursday, I found one that I liked on Craigslist, and I made arrangements for Chris and I to go out and look at it the next day.

On Friday, while we were talking with the lady who was selling the chair, the subject of foster care came up.  It is something that she is interested in, and I was happy to tell her why were doing it.  After rocking in the chair, and admiring the (very cute) fabric that her mother had just reupholstered the cushions in, Chris and I agreed that we liked the chair, and so happily handed over the money and said our goodbyes.

We were loading the chair into the back of the car when she came running back outside.  She told us that she really wanted us to have the chair, and she handed the money back to me.  I told her we really didn’t mind paying for it, but she said, “No, we think that what you are doing is really wonderful and we want you to have it.”  She was sincere, and so I took the money back and thanked her.

I hope I was able to convey in that “thank you”, how truly grateful I was.  A complete stranger, who could have made some money that day, chose to bless us.  God used this generous lady to confirm that He will give us everything we need to serve Him in this capacity.

So, while my eyes see a piece of furniture that we can use to soothe Little One, my heart sees the God who will not fail to provide what we need.  This rocker symbolizes all the generous people that have shared their resources with us, and I am reminded that God is good, and that we are blessed.

He gathers the lambs in His arms and carries them close to his heart.

Isaiah 40:11

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

3 thoughts on “The Rocking Chair Story”

  1. What a beautiful story of God’s gracious provision and loving care! I’m picturing you rocking and comforting babies in that glider, singing and praying and loving. I’m so thankful for this road God has led you down, and I’m eagerly anticipating all the ways He’s going to use it to reveal His faithfulness. Love you, friend! XOXO

Leave a Reply

