Living by the Spirit

My sincere apologies for disappearing like I did.  I was gonna write out my past couple of weeks, but I think I can sum it all up by saying I am busy.  The “swamped” kind of busy that you know if you just hold on, things will slow down.  I’m sure you know the kind I am talking about.

I  am still working on getting ready for the rummage sale, and things are going well.  Today I am working on my den, which is pretty much my office and the schoolroom.  So, in addition to simplifying, I am also sorting through the children’s school stuff and packing up schoolbooks to send back to k12.

Two weeks ago, I started attending a Bible study at church.  We are studying Living Beyond Yourselves by Beth Moore.  I’ve done it before, and I really liked it.  But this time, I really need it.  She is teaching about the Holy Spirit, His role in our daily lives, and the fruit that we bear as evidence that He is at work in us.

As I’ve been working on collecting things for this rummage sale, I think I lost focus for a little while, and I was much less loving, joyful, peaceful, patient, etc. with my entire family.  How desperately I need to be completely emptied of myself and filled with Him in order to produce that fruit.

Last night, she shared “Through the fruit in my life, the world will taste and see that the Lord is good.”  While I do want the world to see Him in my life, I can’t help but think of it this way.

“Through the fruit in my life, my children will taste and see that the Lord is good.”

So, I continue on with going through the house, getting ready for this rummage sale, emptying myself of me,  being filled with Him, and trusting that He has something good in store for us.

Eventually, I will get back to regular posting, but not for about a month yet.  Lots of fun things happening in the next few weeks.  The rummage sale, my sister and her family coming up to visit, my other sister getting married, another sister trying to sell her house, and a family vacation (all six siblings and our families going to MO where my parents live) over the 4th of July week!!

Here is the verse from our Bible Study homework today:

“So I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature.”  Galatians 5:1

While there are days that doing this feels so hard, it truly is simple.  I am not given a huge, long list of things to do or not to do.  Just one thing…Live by the Spirit.  And the fact that He is ready and willing to live in us and through us…that, my friends, is truly amazing!

So, on this lovely June day, I pray that you are encouraged and blessed in Him!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

