Is “seven” the number of perfection?

If it pertains to “days in which to minimize my house”, then no, it is not.

I looked at the calendar with my friend, Alaina, and I realize that I only have SEVEN, I repeat SEVEN days, to go through the house and take out everything we don’t need and get ready for THE rummage sale.  *update: I realize that I cannot properly (or sanely) pull of a rummage sale next weekend, so it will now be on the 22nd of June.  The rest of this post remains the same.*

Yes, the one where the proceeds will be go to Lifesong for Orphans, to help bring home my friend’s four-year old twins from Ethiopia.

So, tomorrow I will spend the day getting organized and catching up from being gone for five days and then, starting on Friday….

I will fast and furiously implement my favorite clean-sort-organize-get rid of stuff method.  It happens to be the same one I used this past week with my sister as we sorted through her things to get her house ready to sell.

Simple, yet effective.

Start at whatever point you want, (for me, it will be my front door) and move counter-clockwise around the room assessing each and every item.

  1. If you need or love the object, keep it.
  2. If you don’t want it, put it in one of three places.  Either the Goodwill (or rummage sale) pile, or the garbage, or if you KNOW that a family member or friend would like it, set it in a box for them.  (but of course, you have to be sure you can get it to them and not just keep moving it around your house.
  3. And you have to decide as you are holding the item or looking at it.  When in doubt, put it in the Goodwill/rummage sale pile.

That is my plan.  It’s worked in the past, and I’m counting on it to work again!  Any thoughts, methods, or rummage sale tips that you can share with me to help me along?

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

3 thoughts on “Is “seven” the number of perfection?”

  1. Advertise that it is a benefit.
    Keep it organized. Like items together. And make sure they are clean and not wrinkled.
    Good signage. Many bright signs with clear arrows to your sale.
    Price items very reasonable.
    Cookies and coffee that maybe the kids can help sell.

Leave a Reply

