it’s like getting a new book…

When I receive a new book, the first thing I do is skim through it and read through the Table of Contents.  With (in)RL, I feel exactly like God gave me a new book, and I’ve only had the opportunity to skim through the pages and eagerly look over the contents.  While I cannot even begin to tell you all that lays in those pages, I can tell you that it will be life changing.

In my mind, thoughts race around.  I am trying to find words to describe what the (in)RL conference was like.  I know that so many powerful points were made, and  I made mental note of all that I wanted to meditate on, but now, only two days later, I feel the weight of every day responsibilities shoving out those precious thoughts.  I need to slow down and revisit my notes and ask God to remind me what He was trying to say to me.  Maybe I will simply take it one week at a time, sharing what God spoke to my heart in each of the sessions.

I have been deeply touched by Sara’s life.  Some of the phrases used to describe her were “intentional about loving others”, “wholly cared for people” and “choose joy”.   Even this morning, I was reminded that I could choose joy.  (just so you know, I did.  Who wants to be “gloomy girl” when bringing lunch to her hubby at work, right?)  I was  challenged to live life with one foot here and the other in heaven.  I keep asking myself, “if I knew that Jesus would return tomorrow, what would I do today?”

Another point that landed deep in my heart was made by Bonnie, who defined community as “a challenge to stay”.  To stay in the moment and let each other “be”, whatever it is that they need to “be” at that time.  Love doesn’t bail, love says “I’m gonna stay in the moment long enough to see God work.”  I needed to hear that, oh, my heart truly needed to heart that.

I’m sorry that I can’t seem to find the perfect words to sum up this beautiful weekend.  I will admit that I am a bit envious of those that can so quickly put their thoughts into words.  I realize that processing “heart thoughts” is not something that I can ever do quickly, and I suppose that God gave me “molasses” brain for some good reason!

I just read that there will be a DVD set and study booklet available, if learning more about women & community is something on your heart, you can get more information here.  If you do get a copy, let me know.  I’d love to absorb all these heart lessons along with you!


Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

1 thought on “it’s like getting a new book…”

  1. It’s like getting a new book! Exactly! I have been soaking it in all weekend. I am waiting for the DVD to be released because I know my notes are not enough to remember all that I learned!

Leave a Reply

