Catching up!

My computer has been at the “computer hospital” for over a month now. And probably a couple more weeks before I get it back. They fixed the original problem, but when my husband went to pick it up from the store, we found out that they had put on a defective keyboard. And they actually thought we would be okay with that! Umm, no. Not okay with that. At. all. So, we sent it back and they told us it would take about two weeks to get it back (but that is also the time frame they gave us the first time it was sent out!) I am trying (and often failing) to be patient…

In this past month, I have come to realize how much I rely on the computer. I balance our checking account, pay bills, use recipes, communicate with people, listen to music, check the weather, shop the local grocery store ads, get directions for places, and more… In addition, our children’s schooling is all online, so I’ve been trying to share their computers with them at the same time they are trying to do their lessons-not exactly convenient.

All this to say, I am thrilled that my husband found me an unused computer at his work place that I can borrow until I get mine back from the store! It has been wonderful! I feel connected and able to do my “job” now that I have this tool in my hands.

It has been over a month since I wrote last, but it feels like much longer. Some of the things that have happened are…

our youngest son celebrated his 11th birthday-I really love that kid-so thankful to God for him!

all my kids went in to the dentist and only two came out with cavities. Yes, the goal is zero cavities, but it was an improvement from the last visit-so I was happy. We found a dentist that we really love. I thought I would never find someone as good as our previous dentist, but Dr. Luther and his office staff are amazing!

my daughter and I went down to Wauwatosa to pick up my mom, who came up for a short visit. We spent the night down there, with some friends of my parents that I hadn’t seen in years. It was so nice getting to visit with them. On our way home, we stopped at the outlet mall in Oshkosh, where I purchased a 14″ stainless steel skillet that I’ve been thinking about for several months-I am loving it!

this is what I have learned about stainless steel cookware. I do not need the heat near as high as I do in my hard anodized cookware (learned that one the hard way), and so far, it cleans up beautifully! (Tip from my mom: if needing to clean a pan that has lots of hard, cooked on food, place a clean dryer sheet in the pan with some warm water. Let is soak for a while, in our case, overnight. The next morning, it will wash up beautifully!) We’ve only needed the dryer sheet method once-since I discovered the whole “lower heat” thing!

for spring break, we went down to visit my siblings in Indiana. And it was so. much. fun. I have been so blessed to live nearby two of my sisters since we first moved back to Wisconsin. But one sister lives in Indiana. And while we try to get together at least once a year, it is not nearly enough. It was just wonderful getting to spend that time with her. So between our girlie visits and fun times spent with my brothers and their wonderful wives and kids, we had a week that was absolutely heavenly. And I mean it-I cannot wait until we have all of eternity to be together!

my kids are doing great in school…we are scheduled to be done around the end of May. I think that all of us are looking forward to summer break.

we continue to watch my cousin’s baby boy, who is absolutely precious! The kids are so good about picking him up and handing him to me, since my back doesn’t allow for that right now. He is smiley and talkative, and he loves his cousins!

my back continues to heal, more slowly than I would like. It truly has been a patience-producer. There are so many things that I want to do (simple things…like reaching into my cabinets, or grocery shopping, or scrubbing the shower!) that I cannot yet do. My physical therapist says that I am doing great, right on schedule, and that I will soon see the light at the end of the tunnel. So, I just keep plugging away at my therapy, and trusting that God knows how long this healing process will take.

Through all these past several weeks, I have pondered so much what eternity will be like. Knowing that the best that this earth has to offer, whether in loving relationships or the beautiful creation around us, is nothing compared to the glorious new heaven and earth that await us. It is just something that I love to think about, and that encourages my heart many times a day!

Their are two holidays that I love…and by that I do mean holy days. One is Thanksgiving-not mandated by God, but certainly a time that I love to reflect on His faithfulness. The other is this week-this Holy week. I cannot help but get goosebumps, tears in my eyes and a heart that feels like it will burst when I contemplate what Christ did for me.. The cross~I think that is where the tears come in . But the goosebumps and bursting heart…how can you think of that glorious morning when He rose from the grave, conquering death itself, without being in awe?

I wonder how many more Easter Sundays we will celebrate before we are taken up into heaven and get to see those precious nail-pierced hands and feet. I cannot think about that without tearing up. Oh, come quickly, Lord Jesus.

I know these thoughts are a bit random and scattered, that is truly a reflection of this woman’s life right now. A lot going on, but desperately wanting Him to always be in every detail.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

