His Eye is on the Sparrow

Why should I be discouraged
why should the shadows come
why should my heart be lonely
and long for heav’n and home,
when Jesus is my portion?
My constant friend is He;
His eye is on the sparrow
and I know He watches me.

It is hard to write about the painful things in life. But we know they will come. In John 16:33, it says,

“I have said these things to you,
that in Me you may have peace.
In the world
you will have tribulation.
But take heart,
I have overcome the world.”

He tells us, as Christ-followers, to expect difficult times. Now I can understand some of the hard things that might come our way, being mocked at work because of taking a stance with Christ, losing friends or family members because of accepting Jesus as Lord of our life, being persecuted, tortured or even losing our lives for the sake of the Truth.

But what about the times when the source of difficulty is completely unexpected? When we are fired without just cause? when we lose a dear friend? when our integrity is questioned? How do we handle it when the rug is pulled out from under us?

“Let not your heart be troubled”
His tender voice I hear,
and resting in His goodness,
I lose my doubt and fear;
tho’ by the path He leadeth
but one step I may see:
His eye is on the sparrow,
and I know he watches me.

I was walking through my living room this morning, opening curtains and feeling saddened by the sinfulness of this world, the hate, the selfishness, the anger that drives people apart, and I decided to try sitting at the piano. I haven’t done this much since my back surgery, as it has been a bit uncomfortable. But I’m so glad that I tried it this morning. I do believe that it was God that prompted me to sit down, and open my old hymnal, because He had something He wanted to remind me of.

Whenever I am tempted
whenever clouds arise,
when songs give place to sighing,
when hope within me dies,
I draw the closer to Him,
from care He sets me free;
His eye is on the sparrow,
and I know He cares for me.

When the rug is pulled out from under us, and we find ourselves lying on our backs, in pain and vulnerable, we should find ourselves looking up…into the the wonderful face of Jesus. He will never leave us or forsake us, His eye is constantly upon us, even more than the tiny sparrow that flies about. (Hebrews 13:5, Psalm 32:8, Luke 12:6-7)

He has promised a multitude of things to us, and when we start remembering them, we can be comforted. To have the Lord of All, the One who is Truth and Peace and Love, to be on our side, loving and caring for us, our heart can be at rest. If He is for us, who can be against us?

Lord, comfort us with your Truth, Your Peace, Your love.

While I love this song, I wish the word were changed from “I sing because I’m happy” to “I sing because I’m joyful”…sometimes I don’t feel “happiness”, but I am full of joy-because of the very things the song speaks of!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

1 thought on “His Eye is on the Sparrow”

Leave a Reply

