the past month….

Well, I didn’t get to post like I wanted, but not because of busyness. I just felt awful! And I mean awful!
The side effects of the meds that my doctor put me on were intense nausea and GI issues. It was miserable there for a while. I finally called my doctor and asked for some kind of anti-emetic to get me over the initial effects. With that, there was a bit of relief.
My parents, two of my sisters, my brother and his family and a family friend were here for the holidays, and it was SO nice to be together. We spent most of our time sitting by the fireplace visiting. Dad and Chris went golfing a few times (on the Wii in the basement!).
I have mentioned in the past about the chronic low back pain that I’ve dealt with for years. For over a decade, we have tried every conservative approach that we (and chiropractors, doctors, physical therapists and massage therapists) could think of.
On the 28th of December, I had an MRI scan. The results showed that the disc between the L5 and S1 vertebrae is severely degenerated-almost completely gone.
We knew, after praying about it and talking to the doctor, that the time for surgery had come. For avoiding it and dreading it for so many years, I think it is amazing the peace that I have with it all.
So, tomorrow morning at 6:00am, we arrive at the hospital and two hours later I will be having a titanium steel implant put between those two vertebrae-and over time, Lord willing, the bones will fuse together.
The only thing that I have worried about is the financial aspect. Over the past few months, we have racked up medical bills and I know that several more will start coming in. Honestly, I almost canceled the surgery because of it.
But my dear (wise) husband reminded me that this surgery is God’s plan and His answer to the years of searching. So, instead of calling off the surgery, we are making other drastic changes.
Unless God dramatically shuts the door, we will be moving this summer. For those of you who have been following my blog-you know how I feel about the home we are in. I love it. I really, really love it.
But it’s not just the house that I love. It’s my neighbors, as well. I have been blessed beyond words by the two sisters in Christ who live right across the street from me. Dawn and Alaina are women who love the Lord with all their hearts…and I admire them!
Yet, even as I wrestle with the emotion of it, I know that paying our medical bills and paying off our debt is what we need to focus on. And so, I am willing to move into a place that is smaller in order to accomplish this.
I have contacted the realtor for a house that has been up for sale for over a year, asking if the owner is interested in renting to us. I like the house-it is one that we looked at when we first found out we were moving to the Fox Valley. God knows what our future is, but until He shows me differently, I am praying that something works out with that particular house.
In the meantime, my life consists of doing school with my kids, recuperating from back surgery, watching my cousin’s little guy 2x a week, and slowly going through stuff (again) in order to prepare for another move.
In all this, I have been reminded so many times to choose FAITH. To put my faith in who God is, what He says, and what He does.

“Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.”
Hebrews 11:1

“Without faith, it is impossible to please God.”
Hebrews 11:6

“Oh Lord, increase our faith!”
Luke 17:5

Well, I need to get back to helping my kids with schoolwork. Will is in Earth Science and I am loving the unit he is studying-plate tectonics!

I hope each and every one of you has a beautiful, faith-filled day!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

