Spaghetti Squash

On Saturday, I baked up three spaghetti squashes that my sweet neighbor gave to us and used them instead of pasta for the Mediterranean Chicken that I made that night. Although I’ve read about doing that, I’ve never had the foresight to cook up the squash before we had a pasta meal. But being intentional paid off…I prepped the squash, let it cool (and sit for part of the day) and when evening came, I just scraped out the strands and sauteed them in EVOO with salt, pepper and a little crushed pepper flakes, then topped it with the sauce I had made. It turned out to be a very tasty dish that earned 4 stars with my family.

Several years ago, I started asking my family to rate our meals. The scales goes from 1-5….

5 means “I LOVE this! I could eat this once a week!”

4 means “This is good…I’d eat this a couple of times a month!”

3 means “Having this dish once in a while wouldn’t be so bad.”

2 means “I’ll finish, but only so that I can have dessert.”

1 means “please don’t make me eat this…I’m going to vomit”

So, while I could eat curry every week, my dear husband could not. He has given it a 3, and so I know that at least I can have it once in a while, and he knows that (thankfully) I will only serve it once in a while. We’re both happy!

Today, in my attempt to save money, I am looking online at all the online grocery ads, and making lists and will be making a menu off of what is on sale. Honestly, I do not love this…but I’m praying that eventually the savings I’ll see will keep my heart from dreading this weekly chore.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

1 thought on “Spaghetti Squash”

  1. Smiling big at your industry and creativity. đŸ™‚ And I LOVE your rating system and the descriptions of each number. Wednesdays, the day our ads arrive, is one of my favorite days of the week as I pour over the ads, match them with my coupons, and come up with a master plan. I'm going to pray that, in time, it will become a delight for you. May God strongly encourage you and remind you how your intentionality is blessing your family. I love you and miss you, friend.

Leave a Reply

