Breadsticks, Pumpkin Seeds, and a Great New Book!

Our ISP thinks they have discovered and corrected the issues that we’ve been having with our internet, so hopefully I can continue posting on a daily basis for the rest of this monthly challenge.
On Wednesday, instead of purchasing garlic bread from the store, I decided I would make Parmesan Breadsticks by hand. I made them with 100% whole wheat flour, but next time I think I will use spelt flour, and maybe add a little white flour, to soften the flavor.

On Thursday, my son wanted to make Chocolate Chip Cookies (and he makes VERY good chocolate chip cookies). But, alas, we didn’t have any more brown sugar, and no money with which to buy some. I suggested that he make the brown sugar, like we did growing up in South America. All you have to do is add molasses to regular sugar and mix it up real well. My son and husband, who aren’t huge fans of molasses cookies, were a little dubious, but I insisted that it would be just fine! I helped him get it started, then left for choir practice. When I got home, I asked my hubby how the cookies were. He said they turned out great!!!

On Thursday, I noticed that our neighbors were carving pumpkins and I asked them if they liked to roast the seeds. She said that she wasn’t going to because she was the only one in her familythat really ate them. So, I asked her if I could have them, and she very kindly shared them with me! I let them dry overnight, and then roasted them in the morning with 2 Tb. of butter, salt, pepper, cayenne and Cajun seasoning. (They can be addicting)

And now, that great book I mentioned…
My mom passed on a book to me a while ago, called “Having a Mary Spirit…allowing God to change us from the inside out” by Joanna Weaver. She also wrote “Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World”, and my girlfriends and I worked through that book several years ago.

I believe that the Spirit kept whispering to me to pick it up and look at it. I had recently finished reading through the Old Testament, and I was praying about where I should study next during my morning time with the Lord. I don’t often use books for that purpose, but I was strongly impressed to pick it up and look at it. And when I did, I knew that He was indeed wanting to teach me something about Himself through this study. Here’s a little of what I’ve been reading.

“I can’t imagine anything more terrible than getting to the end of my life only to discover that God had so much more in mind for me-more freedom, more joy, more peace, more true effectiveness. And I had missed it all, simply because I refused to change.”

“Continually striving, yet never arriving. Hoping, praying to be different, only waking up to find you’re not as far along as you’d hoped to be. Sometimes feeling like you’re right back where you started-again!”

“If I could just be good enough and do the right things, then I would please God. But in my heartfelt desire to serve and honor the Lord, I fell prey to the same lie that deceived the Pharisees so long ago. The lie that holiness is up to us.”

“To think that Christ gave us so much only to have us experience so little brings tears to my eyes.”

“Satan wants me-and he wants you!-to be so constantly preoccupied with what we’re not that we never get around to realizing all that God is.”

The verse that I am memorizing…

Philippians 3:12-14 “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do, forgetting what is behind and straining toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

and the song that we are learning in choir, which plays itself over and over in my heart, reaffirming what I am reading and learning in the mornings…

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

1 thought on “Breadsticks, Pumpkin Seeds, and a Great New Book!”

  1. Great post—enjoy your posts alot, Nichole! That book sounds very good—need to get that one!I'm in a Bible study now using "Becoming a Woman of Extraordinary Faith" by Julie Clinton—very good, too.Blessings,Paulette

Leave a Reply

