What Does Love Look Like?

Several years ago, I came across these statements that children made about love. Some make me smile and some are so very touching…

“When someone loves you, the way they say your name is different. You just know that your name is safe in their mouth.” Billy, age 4

“Love is when my mommy makes coffee for my daddy and she takes a sip before giving it to him to make sure the taste is okay.” Danny, age 7

“Love is a litte old woman and a little old man who are still friends after they know each other so well.” Tommy, age 6

“Love is when your puppy licks your face even after you left him alone all day.” Mary Ann, age 4

Here is a true story told by Leo Buscaglia~

There was a four-year old child whose next door neighbor was an elderly gentleman who had recently lost his wife. Upon seeing the man cry, the little boy went into the old gentleman’s yard, climbed onto his lap, and just sat there. When his mother asked what he had said to the neighbor, the little boy said, “Nothing. I just helped him cry.”

If you would ask me what love looks like, here are a few things that I would say…

Friends that take time out of their busy day to travel three hours, just to spend a few hours laughing, talking, praying, reminiscing with their friend who recently moved away.

Learning that your friend’s most favorite book series is being continued; purchasing a copy and having it sent to her…to her great surprise and delight!

A group of people who are willing to give of their time and resources to share about the most amazing love of all…the love that is bestowed on humankind by God Almighty, when He sent His only Son to pay the most dreadful penalty for our sin.

Lord, make me a channel of Your love; let it flow through me to my husband, my children, my family, my neighbors….my world.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

