In the quiet…

As I was walking along the lakefront last week, my heart was overflowing with thoughts and emotions as I thought about my recent class reunion.  I desperately wanted to go home and write, but there was a part of me that was afraid.                           

I wanted to do justice to the whole experience, and I was afraid  I couldn’t.  Most of the time my words are short and to-the-point.  I am not very descriptive and most certainly not a good story teller!  While I can feel something so deeply, I often have a hard time expressing it in words.   I have friends that blog who use incredibly inspiring, encouraging and even convicting words in the most beautiful way.  They make me see the Lord in a way that I haven’t before, and that makes me yearn to be more like Him.

(Sigh…)

I have realized two things since that day.  The first was that I must simply be myself.  I need not wait until I have something that I think is “profound” enough to share, something that I think is inspiring or encouraging.  As I write, I hope you will see Him in my daily life.  In the short, to-the-point descriptions that I so often use.  And somehow, I pray,  that because He is in it, the ordinary becomes not-so-ordinary.

The second thing I have come to realize is…I must slow down.  Sometimes I am moving and thinking so fast that the actions and words are a mere reaction to life around me, rather than a genuine response to what God is doing deep inside me.

Slowing down and taking the time to hear my heart responding to God in the ordinary, daily stuff of life…

My heart overflows with gratitude.  My soul is at rest.  He is God.  And He is good.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

