My last post was about the fact that we had just found out that I would most likely be homeschooling the children for the 2011-2012 school year. I was in a bit (okay, maybe more than a bit) of shock and dismay.

I have prayed much (and in all honesty, worried much. Just being honest here) and I think that He has given me a plan.

Following the advice of a friend, I looked up what the graduation requirements are in our new school district. From there, I worked backwards to figure out the subjects that my children (specifically my daughter, who will be a junior in high school) would need before graduation.

I searched the internet for curriculum that I think fits my teaching style plus my children’s five different learning styles….and I actually found a couple of possiblities. I am familiar with one of the companies, as it is what I used when I homeschooled the children several years ago. I went back and forth between the two, because I really like them both, but wasn’t sure which would be a better fit.

In the end, I decided to use both. (of course, I am going to be praying about this over the summer. I am open to change if God so leads.) My two oldest will use Sonlight’s Core 100 together, which includes all subjects but Science. They will be doing Earth Science together, and (lucky them!) Civics. The three youngest will be using “Adventures in the Sea and Sky”, from Winterpromise.

I am waiting until fall to order anything, just in case the state opens up enrollment to all the two thousand and some students that are on the waiting list, and my kids can attend the charter school!

In the meantime, I am waiting on God. To give assurance of this plan for our family. To provide the means to purchase what we need. To grow me in this area of my faith.

I’ll let you know what happens!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

