Well, this isn’t even the post that has been on my heart to share, but it’s more physical in nature than emotional, so pretty much short and to the point. Can I just say “OUCH!” ????? Let me back up a little…

I have struggled to maintain a healthy weight once I started having babies. But about 5 or so years ago, we got a YMCA membership and I faithfully worked out and started the South Beach Diet. After a couple of years, I was finally at a good weight! I was maintaining my weight by walking (along the lakefront which is GREAT!)and because we needed the money more than the elliptical machine at the Y~we cancelled our membership. And then…a series of major medical issues have plagued me… pretty much once a year, for the past three years, I have been laid up in bed for 2-10 weeks. And have gained about 10 pounds within the first two weeks of each event. Yikes! And in spite of walking most days, and eating a pretty healthy diet, I have not managed to lose anything. I have been so discouraged. Which brings me to the present…I just saw my doctor yesterday. She reminded me of two things.
#1 I am getting older…the weight isn’t going to come off as easily as it did last time.
#2 You can’t do the same thing and expect different results. She suggested that I add ankle weights to my morning walks. Which I discovered this morning really does make a difference! OUCH!
I also decided to make changes in two more areas. The first, I am going to lessen the portion size of my grains (I only eat brown rice and corn…normally I steer clear of any gluten-type products) and instead of doing weight resistance exercised with my cans of black beans and orange stretchy thing…I am going to use the “new to us” exercise machine that God gifted us with yesterday. We recently decided that we were going to purchase one eventually, when we had the money. Instead of having us pay $300, God led us to one that cost us $40!!!!! I’m so excited!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

