Yours, not mine

Oh Lord, the days are so long now that Chris is commuting. I miss him…really miss him.
A couple of weeks ago, I was studying the chapter from Beautiful in God’s Eyes where it talks about our husbands being yours, not ours.  I need Your help to let go of my selfish desires and wants.
For so long, I was able to speak to him at almost any time of day, and usually have lunch with him.  I don’t think I really understood what a precious gift that was from You to us.
And now, his days are filled with the demands and responsibilities that come with managing an entire office and many different people.  I know that he loves it, I know that you have gifted him to do this, and you have called him to this job.
I want to be his greatest cheerleader, a source of comfort in this busy and demanding world, but I need You to help me.  Right now, I want him to take me in his arms and hold me and tell me “everything will be all right”…”this is just a season”…”it won’t be like this forever”.
But I sense You asking me to go to You for that comfort, enabling me to be a blessing to my husband, letting Your love flow through me to him.
Lord, during this time when everything is new for him, and he has to deal with a 3 hour commute everyday, help me to see life through his eyes, and let me be the one to hold him and tell him “thank you for doing this for our family”…”this is just a season”…”it won’t be like this forever”.  Lord, use my husband for whatever purpose You created him for…for Your honor and Your glory…let me love him the way You do.  Keep me reminding me that he is Yours, not mine.  (but I thank You with all that is in me for letting me live life with this man….he is the dearest thing on earth to me!)

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

