If you already saw this on FB, just ignore it…

If you already saw this post on Facebook, just ignore it. I figure I better post it,  because it needs to be a part of my story here.  Otherwise, (if I actually continue to blog), my life won’t make much sense!

In the middle of December, Chris was encouraged to apply for his boss’s job-Regional Manager for Appleton.  He ended up doing that, and for the past several weeks we have been moving from one phase of the application process to another, slowly (sometimes agonizingly) moving toward the goal.  A few weeks ago, we found out that the Eau Claire area also needed a regional manager, and Chris was asked if that would be something he would be intested in.  While our preference would certainly be to stay as close to Sheboygan as possible, we were willing to go wherever God wanted to move us.

For the past several months, I’ve continued to have issues with high blood pressure.  My doctor had me go off the medication that I take for my chronic back issues, to see if that was contributing to blood pressure issues.  After 3+ weeks of being off of that, my blood pressure is still high, so I am back on my pain meds (thank you, Lord) and not so great, but at least it is an option…blood pressure medication.

Also, over Christmas break, God prompted us to take our 6th grader out of school and homeschool him.  With all these things going on, we were sensing that maybe my season of working outside the home was coming to an end.  We are so grateful to God for providing that job for me, as it has made up for the pay decrease that Chris took when he was promoted last year.  In all honesty, it was scary for me to think of giving up the paycheck.  I didn’t know how in the world we would make ends meet.  And I was as strongly impressed that I needed to be home full time again.

Remember that scene in Indiana Jones-The Last Crusade where Indy makes his way through that deadly obstacle course in order to find the Holy Grail?  One of the tests  was the leap of faith out of the lion’s mouth…I remember the way he puts his hand over his heart and boldly steps out-seemingly into a bottomless abyss.  That’s how I felt last Friday as I submitted my resignation….we were  boldly taking a step of faith.

And of course, if you are familiar with that scene, you know that his foot landed on a firm bridge, and he didn’t fall into that deep crevice.  And if you are familiar with the ways of God, you know that God always provides solid footing for us.

Two hours later, Chris received a phone call asking him to go down to the office the next morning.  I still have no words to explain how my heart felt when he told me.

The next day, he was offered the position as Regional Manager in Appleton.  Our hearts are humbled and awed as we see how He has led us through this whole ordeal.  He had a plan all along to take care of us and meet our needs, and we stand amazed at His goodness.

With this position comes a move for us.  We have raised our babies here. We have grown up  and grown together here.

Our hearts have been knit together with brothers and sisters in Christ.  And it is painful to leave.  I really don’t want to think about it.  Eventually, I know I’ll have to.  But right now, I don’t think I can.

Lately, I’ve thought often of Proverbs 31:11.  My husband has told me that it does his heart good to know that I have a plan and can manage the moving of our household (for those of you who know me, there is not much I don’t have a plan for) For the next few weeks, my goal is to pack up our “stuff”, fix a few things in the house, and get the house on the market.  Sell or rent, God knows the plan for our home, and we are looking forward to seeing what that is!

These are the thoughts that we lay before the Lord, asking Him to make us attentive to His guidance…His leading….His will.  We ask you to pray with us that

1) He will be preparing someone to purchase our home

2) He will be preparing our next home for us~a place where we can minister to and serve the people that He brings into our lives (we are checking out a few homes this Saturday!)

3) He will lead us to the church family that He intends for us to serve

Well, that’s about it…I know that many of you have been praying for us, and I know that you will continue to pray for us during this transition!  And for that, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

