Five Thing Fling

I know that we have so much stuff that we don’t really “need”. Things that take up valuable time to keep organized or clean, things that simply take up space, things that we wouldn’t necessarily move with us if God ever calls us somewhere else. I’m not opposed to parting with this “stuff”, but finding the time to go through and think through all the decisions of what to keep, what not to keep, what to fix, etc, etc is honestly, a little overwhelming. So…

This month I instituted a new project for myself to help me declutter in a way that really doesn’t take much time and will make the process a bit smoother.

On the 5th day of the month (or thereabouts), every month for this coming year, I am going to go through every room of my house and remove (or fling…because it rhymes with “thing”)5 things which I don’t need, or use, or want anymore. I will pack them up in a box and drop them off at Goodwill. I figure over the course of the year, I will have lightened our material load by 540 items-at least!

I’ve already done the office and I got rid of…

2 puzzles
3 books
1 hot air balloon lamp

and in the dining room I parted with…

1 set of dishes (which actually was 48 pieces)
1 set of mismatched glasses
1 really cute little coffee/mug set~it is adorable
1 ceramic piggy bank shaped like a red pick up truck with rocks in the back
1 little red flyer wagon
1 scented oil diffuser

I think I will be tackling my bedroom this afternoon/evening, so I’ll let you know what goes! : )

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

1 thought on “Five Thing Fling”

Leave a Reply

