One Goal

Every December, I start praying about what goals God wants me to have for the coming year. I look over last year’s goals, pondering why certain goals I seemed to reach, and why others fell short-not even close. This past December, I must admit, I was discouraged. I’ve had some of the same goals every year since 2003. I am ashamed and saddened by that. Was I not reaching for the things of Christ, was I too lazy to make effort toward those particular goals? I pushed my binder away from me, not to think about it again until I was reading the Facebook status of a missionary lady that I knew growing up. She was sharing her New Year’s Resolution, which was “to walk in the Spirit”. And that’s when it hit me. That’s the way it ought to be. At least for me. For now. Don’t get me wrong, I still have things that I want to have done by next year. Like, for instance, the quilt that I started many years ago. Or the joy of knowing that my siblings actually received birthday cards from me this year. In fact, God has been speaking to my heart about the way I manage my time, and I am making changes in response to His prompting. But this year, I have just one goal…to walk in the Spirit.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

