Being an “MK”

I grew up in South America as a “missionary kid”. And I loved it. For years, I’ve been wanting to see all the pictures that my parents took while in Bolivia, but unfortunately they were all in slide form, and since I don’t have access to a slide projector, that desire remained just that-a desire.
Recently, my dad brought up all their slides and a slide scanner so that I could scan them onto the computer. I was so excited to start, but when the day came to begin that project, the scanner didn’t work. I was so bummed to tell them that I couldn’t do it, especially because I know they were excited to finally get them into digital form.
Last week, my daughter and I were at Kohl’s and I happened to see a film and slide scanner on sale for 20% off, and since I had a coupon for 30% off-I snatched it right up! It works beautifully! I was able to scan everything they sent up…1, 741 slides….and they were surprised and thrilled to see the pictures again after so long!
During those days of scanning and sorting pictures, I shed many tears. And laughed quite a bit, too! I was reminded of what my heart loved first. The country, the people, the friends I made…those all shaped me to be who I am today. I will probably write quite a few posts about it…the impact on my life was huge. And I want to remember and embrace the way I was raised. For all it’s unique challenges and blessings…I thank God!
Here’s a picture of me shortly after we arrived in Bolivia. We were saying good-bye to our siblings before we flew in a small airplane to the boarding school that we attended. I was laughing with my husband about the size of my glasses-calling them coke-bottle bottoms, and his reply was…

“Hon, those aren’t coke bottles, those are windshields!” So absolutely true-and funny! (but wait til you see some pictures from later in my life. How I thank God for contact lenses!) I could sit here and share pictures and reminisce all day, but I need to pick up my daughter from school (exams this week! So, she’s out a little early) and get one of my boys to the doctor.

I’ll post again soon. Have a good day!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

