The Little Things

You know, I am absolutely convinced that God cares about the little things in our lives. Just recently, I’ve been asking God to please show me how to be a better steward of my husband’s paycheck, and wondering if there was anything that I could do to earn some money to contribute to the household budget. Well, guess what? He has provided a way for me to earn some extra money….by ironing! I love to iron. It is what I do when I have some free time and I want to relax. Amazing to think that God loves me enough to pay me to do something enjoyable. Wow!
Today, I was at my ironing job, having a grand ol’ time, listening to music…just loving the peace and quiet of the home that I was in, and I started wondering if I was doing a good enough job for the lady who hired me. (I was ironing her daughter’s pleated skirts!) I meditated on that for a while, but in the end I realized that my only duty was to work as if I was working for the Lord Jesus, and just rest in the fact that I was doing my best. “But what if my best isn’t good enough?” a little thought niggled at the back of my mind. Hmmm. Well, about 2 minutes later my cell phone rang. It was my “boss” (I don’t really know what to call her. I’ve never even met her in person!) She was calling to give me a heads up that the painter would be stopping by to check on something and she didn’t want me to be alarmed. She also mentioned that the clothes were ironed beautifully last time….. You might not think anything of it, but I believe that it was God assuring me that my best was good enough. Isn’t He good to speak to our hearts and fellowship with us throughout the day? It’s one of the not-so-little things that I love about Him.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

2 thoughts on “The Little Things”

  1. Yeah! I found your blog and I love it!!! I'm so glad the Lord gave you a little job that you like and that you are obviously good at!! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

