My boys and I are at the end of our week without Chris and Michaela. I am so excited….only 13 more hours until I pick them up from the church parking lot to bring them home. I get teary thinking about it! In the meantime, I’ll just share some of the highlights of our week with you.

Saturday, March 21 Chris and Michaela left at 2:30 in the morning…the boys and I dropped Marcus at work and Maggie at the barn, and then came home to play. A friend of ours took the boys that afternoon to a movie…and McDonalds…and the park!
Sunday, March 22 Church in the morning….then another park day with their friends! (enjoying the lovely weather!)

Monday, March 23 We had D and G over to play. G loved the puppy, Mercy, and kept asking me to lock them into the kennel…. (don’t worry, I didn’t!) At lunchtime, we had Z join our group of boys when his mom dropped off pizza for all of us! What a blessing that was!

The boys watched part of Chronicles of Narnia…and then ate some Turkish Delight that I picked up from TJ Maxx. They loved it!
On Tuesday the 24th, we had a relaxing morning, followed by a fun afternoon at McDonalds with my sister and the kids that she watches…and then the Pizza Ranch that evening. D got to spend the night with us, so the boys folded clothes and then got to watch a movie.


Wednesday morning we woke up and had a nice breakfast and then headed down to the Milwaukee Zoo! It was so cold, but we had a great time!



On Wednesday night, we all slept downstairs in the living room, b/c the boys wanted to help me with the puppy during the night. It was late, all the lights in the house were out, and the boys and I were talking in the dark…it was a lovely moment. I don’t even remember what we talked about (like I said, it was late), but it is a moment I want to remember always.
Thursday morning my Gma, sister T and I went to Goodwill…had a great time. That afternoon, my sister T had all the kids over for an Easter egg hunt…they had a lot of fun. I love watching my boys interact with the kids she takes care of.
That afternoon, I was meeting my sister L at Office Max when my mom called me to tell me that a friend of ours took his own life. He is with the Lord now, and free from the depression that he struggled with for so long, but my heart is breaking for his wife and their children. This couple holds a special place in our hearts, as they were the family that invited us to stay with them in their home while William was in the NICU, so that we could be close to him. They spent many hours praying with us, encouraging us as we went through this experience, emailing updates to my parents and other friends, making us feel so welcome and comforted during what was a very difficult time for us. If you are reading this, please pray for her and the children!
On Friday, Miles was invited to go to the museum with a friend from school. He came home eating crickets. REAL crickets. FLAVORED crickets (bacon and cheese, I believe). I am sure that they are going to get a kick out of telling their friends and teacher on Monday! Alex went over to his friend’s house to play, and Max and Will just hung out with me. Until the afternoon, when I brought Max to the walk-in, b/c of fever and sore throat. The rapid strep test came back negative, so hopefully he’s okay…but they will call if the culture grows strep. He felt okay with medicine in him, so I sent him along with the other boys for a sleepover at my sister L’s house. And that is where they are now…having fun…beating my sister at Nintendo games…not wanting to come home. That’s okay by me, since I am trying to catch up on the laundry and cleaning that I did not do while we were having our fun week! I also want to run down to the music store and pick up a guitar stand as a welcome home gift for my hubbie. He has wanted one for a while, and I’d really like to surprise him!
It was a wonderful week. Not always easy. Sometimes exhausting. But definitely joy-filled. Definitely good. Thank you, Lord!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

