Heartache

“Love anything and your heart will be wrung, and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal.” ~C.S. Lewis
“We who choose to surround ourselves with lives even more temporary than our own, live within a fragile circle, easily and often breached. Unable to accept its awful gaps, we still would live no other way. We cherish memory as the only certain immortality, never fully understanding the necessary plan.”
~Irving Townsend

Today my heart aches. Yesterday, our 2 year old miniature Dachshund, Isabella, was hit by a car and killed. I am grieving. I’ve questioned my maturity and relationship with God because of the deep nature of my grieving. But this I know about myself. I am an all-or-nothing type person. If I love, I love wholeheartedly. A friend kindly teased me about comments I had made about Bellie. “I thought you didn’t like her.” I didn’t alway “like” her, but I loved her deeply. And I will miss her so much. She was cute, and spunky, oh-so-smart. She would climb from the couch onto the piano bench when I was playing and continually drop her little ring toy until I would play with her. If that “subtle” approach didn’t work, she would simply climb inyo my lap while I was playing, and proceed to put her front paws on the keys, playing with me. She would always jump into the bathtub to drink the water that was sitting around the drain. (yuk) She loved to snuggle. I’m sure I will write more about her, but for now I have children that need help with homework.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

