Spiritual gifts

Our Adult Bible Fellowship just finished a two-month series on spiritual gifts and being ministers of Christ Jesus. Although I have done studies in the past, this time it impacted me in a very personal and timely way.
Here’s the thing…Right now, the area of ministry that God has me in is not easy. Some days I really want to say “enough! I can’t do it anymore!” And lately, I’ve had many of those days. BUT, God tells me that I am to serve Him cheerfully in the area He has placed me, He wants me to be WHOLEHEARTED about this.
Last Saturday, I was telling my husband how I just wanted to move out into the country and live like a hermit, I just didn’t want to interact with people anymore. Then, Sunday morning came and Pastor Mark was teaching from Romans 12…about spiritual gifts, and using them wholeheartedly, representing the body of Christ in a loving and cheerful way. I was convicted and moved as God spoke directly to my heart. My husband (who worked in childcare that day) couldn’t wipe the grin off his face as I conveyed this to him on the way home. Truly, my face matched his, as I was so awed by how God spoke to my need so perfectly.
And yet, as I’ve meditated on this all this whole week, I realize that all service done without love is nothing. So, I decided to do a word study on the I Corinthians passage about love. Once again, I was humbled by the knowledge that I fall so short in demonstrating agape love. When hurt or disappointed, I want to pull back in, hide, quit, become proud or judgmental, anything but keep myself in a place of vulnerability. But I know that in order to be obedient to God, I must stay engaged in ministry, serving with a whole heart, a cheeful heart…understanding that it is not people that I am serving, but Almighty God. It should not matter what people say or think or do, all that should matter to me is what God says, what God sees, and what God does.
He has told me to minister. He sees my heart. And He gives me the grace I need every day to obey Him.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

