Lessons from my dinner plate

This morning, a dear friend stopped by for a quick visit and I was lamenting to her how overwhelmed I was feeling. I told her that either I needed a bigger plate, or I needed less stuff on it. The problem, however, is that this is the plate God has given me, and I believe that everything that is on there is supposed to be there. It dawned on me, I can’t remember if this was before or after she left, that I just need to learn to eat differently. Some of you might find this odd about me, but when I eat, I am generally pretty careful to keep my foods from touching each other…and I also generally eat all my foods one at a time (all the potatoes, then the meat, then the veggies, and so on…I have actually changed quite a bit in this area, but I still remember when ‘that was the way I did it”) So, this is what I realized today…I like my life to be like my dinner plate…organized, comfortable, not crowded, take one thing at a time….I am not very good at multi-tasking. You know what? I think God is asking me to change my eating habits…. I think he is saying that my life/thismeal can still be enjoyable even if I take a bit of this, then a bite of that, maybe take a bite of two different foods mixed together (yuk!)…how does this relate to my life? Maybe life will still be good if I do 15 minutes of chores before breakfast while I have that chunck of time rather than needing to wait for the “perfect” chunck of 30 minutes that I need for it. I can simply finish that job up when I find I have another “free 15” later on it the day. Do you understand what I’m saying? I’m not sure if I do yet, something rings true about this, but there is something about my nature that insists that a rigid schedule, having to keep every subject together,

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

