Questionaire

1.Aprons – Y/N? If Y, what does your favorite look like?

No, I don’t usually wear aprons. I do have a really pretty white one with red cherries that I ordered from The Gooseberry Patch….very cute!

2.Baking – Favorite thing to bake:Bread, granola and muffins.

3.Clothesline – Y/N?

No. I grew up with clotheslines, and only clotheslines. For me, I love the feeling of nice, warm clothes coming out of the dryer smelling like Simple Pleasures lavender and vanilla dryer sheets!

4.Donuts – Have you ever made them?

No, but I’ve eaten them. Does that count for anything?

5.Every day – One homemaking thing you do every day:

Straighten my living room. It is the one room of the house that I try to keep looking nice. So, every day (actually, a few times during the day) I straighten the pillows, refold the throw blankets, make sure the carpet is clean and that the couch is parallel to the carpet and spray some of that enzyme eater (to take of doggie smells) on everything to make it smell fresh. At least when my dh walks in the door, he sees order and calmness first thing….

6.Freezer – Do you have a separate deep freeze?

Yes, we have a chest freezer in the basement. Right now it is holding several bags of frozen veggies that were on sale last month, and the rest of the ½ pig that we purchased last fall. (and it usually holds some icecream)

7.Garbage Disposal – Y/N?

No. Unless our dachshund counts!

8.Handbook – What is your favorite homemaking resource?

I REALLY like the book Home Comforts by Cheryl Mendelson.

9.Ironing – Love it or hate it? Or hate it but love the results?

I love ironing. Clothing is one of the only things in life that I get to iron the wrinkles out of, I get time to listen to a movie or music, bring order to my closets….what’s not to love?

10.Junk drawer – Y/N? Where is it?

No junk drawer. (but don’t think I don’t have junk. Just no drawer to put it in)

11.Kitchen – Color and decorating scheme:
Do I have to tell you about my kitchen? It is very small, with one wall being faux red brick, one wall has green, white and red plain wallpaper, the other walls have some kind of flower patter. I am hoping to repaint this summer while my children are at my sister’s home for the week. I will paint a neutral color, with brown, yellow and red accents. Accents being my dish towels and dish cloths, mason jars of coffee beans and my coffeepot. No space for decorations.

12.Love – What is your favorite part of homemaking?

I love to clean, straighten and organize. I am not so great at decorating, but I do enjoy making the most with what I have. I like to turn on lamps, light candles, and put on soft music. My greatest weakness is cooking…don’t love that so much. (that ‘s partly why I use a menu…so I don’t have to think about it more than once a week)

13.Mop – Y/N?

I do love mopping, though I feel the best when I clean my floor on my hands and knees. In fact, that’s what I will be doing in just a little while. Yippee!

14.Nylons – Wash by hand or in the washing machine?

Nylons? Well, if I wear them, I just throw them in the washing machine. Am I supposed to do it some other way?

15.Oven – Do you use the window or open the oven to check?

I open the oven to check . I think this is just habit from when we had an oven window that you couldn’t see through. I can see through this one just fine…I love it!

16.Pizza – What do you put on yours?

I like sausage and jalapenos on my pizza. (or ham and mushrooms)

17.Quiet – What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?

Huh? Quiet moment? What’s that? Actually, last night dh and I were procrastinating going to bed because we were enjoying the quiet of the house with all the children in bed!

18.Recipe card box – Y/N? What does it look like?

My recipe card box is a Mary Engelbreit design. Cute and colorful.

19.Style of house – What style is your house?

No clue what “style” it is. It is a two story home, built in 1914, old plaster walls, hardwood throughout, covered porch…

20.Tablecloths and napkins – Y/N?

I LOVE using tablecloths. My dining room is very simply decorated, so changing tablecloths is like re-decorating! Napkins-paper-though I do have some cloth ones-I usually use those to line the bread basket.

21.Under the kitchen sink – Organized or toxic wasteland?

A little of both. Only two things fit under there…the RO system and the garbage bags.

22.Vacuum – How many times per week?We vacuum every day.

23.Wash – How many loads of laundry do you do per week?

15 or so. More if we are laundering bedding that week.

24.X’s – Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?

Yes. I have a binder which is my brain. And every day I have a list of things to cross off, or move to the next day if I don’t get it done.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

