when I am weak, then I am strong

Yesterday was a full day.

Worshiping with our church family, visiting with friends, dinner out, phone calls to our moms, nap time, evening church…all starting off with breakfast in bed, or course. After enjoying the cards, flowers, coffeecake and coffee in bed, we headed off to church.

My heart was humbled and inspired by our pastor’s message. On one hand, I felt like I am not the woman that he was describing.

I mean, I want to be. But the truth is, I feel weak. I don’t know that I have the “competent strength” that makes me noble. So often, mostly when I am dealing with my older sons, I throw up my hands and call my husband for help, feeling overwhelmed and at a loss. It isn’t easy to admit this, it makes my heart sad. And yet, I will believe Him when He says “My gracious favor is all you need. My power works best in your weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

My heart is yearning for His touch in this area of my life. I want to be a source of strength, a force not easily reckoned with, a mother who invests my heart in the stresses of life! As our pastor continued teaching, the Lord did encourage my heart with reminders of the ways He is changing me and growing me!

For instance, every spring I order grain in bulk. Now, this order is delivered to a church which is an hour and a half from where I live. In previous years, my husband has done the driving because I don’t like to drive through big cities and try to find places I’ve never been. (way out of my comfort zone).

Well, in order to let my hubby enjoy his much needed day of rest at home, I decided to try it by myself this year. And you know what? I had a great time! And the trip went just fine.

My husband just smiled and hugged me as the pastor described the Proverbs 31 woman going out and taking risks to provide for her family…

My heart overflows with amazement at the gentleness of God and the way He brings attention to the areas in my life that need His touch, with the way He can show me the areas that He has kept His promises to me. He is so good.

I love the fact that all I can do is stand before Him honestly and say…”I am weak…I am nothing …You are everything!” Yesterday was not only a full day…it was a wonderful day. Thank you, Lord!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

