A peak into my son’s heart

Last night, my husband and one of the boys had a chat. During this discussion, our young man asked why we didn’t want him playing his new “Zoo Tycoon” game so much. And my dh explained that there is nothing wrong with the game, we simply didn’t want it to become an idol…the most important thing in his life. A while later, my hubbie was sitting at the computer, and he happened to glance down into the garbage can to see…you guessed it…. “Zoo Tycoon”. He called our son downstairs and asked why he threw it away, and my little guy answered him “Daddy, I didn’t want it to become an idol in my life.” (Wow) My dh explained that he didn’t need to throw it away, but rather, we would work on self-control and how much he plays it. This morning I am in awe of my son’s willingness to immediately get rid of something that he really likes…in order to avoid it becoming an idol in his heart. Am I as determined to keep God the most important thing in my heart? …I will continue to meditate on this….
Thank you, Lord, for my children and the example they set for me!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

