My "Perfect" Home

“His house was perfect, whether you liked food, or sleep, or work, or storytelling, or singing, or just sitting and thinking best, or a pleasant mixture of them all.” ~J.R.R. Tolkien

Oh, how I long to make this my home…a place where my family is fed well…where they can stretch out between clean, crisp sheets at the end of a long day….and awake to gentle music and the smell of muffins baking…a home where working together is a means of accomplishing the necessary while at the same time having fun…a place where we can all cuddle together on the couch and eagerly listen to a story being read aloud…where singing and music is a way to express what is in our hearts…where it is okay to be quiet, and simply reflect….

However, the reality is that my children love eating ramen noodles for lunch, they are using sleeping bags instead of sheets right now, if they smell anything when they wake up, it is probably the burnt tater tot on the bottom of the oven, chores are dreaded, cuddling on the couch brings squeals of “move over…get off my foot…ouch, your elbow is in my side”….and there is very rarely a quiet moment to even think about thinking…

Nonetheless, it is good to keep this beautiful image in my heart, because it gives me something to work for every day, finding areas in which I can make our home “more perfect”….

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

