“letting prayer change my life”

In her book, Let Prayer Change Your Life, Becky Tirabassi describes one of the benefits of a regular, powerful prayer life….

“Equally surprising, but perhaps not as pleasant, prayer uncovered personality flaws that had been swept under the rug, shoved aside, and denied for many years, revealing an escape artist’s tactics in avoiding God’s correction or conviction.”

She goes on to say in the workbook…”Even as I uncovered personality flaws about myself during prayer, God’s love seemed to form a strong wall of protection around me, helping me face up to and fight against the sin in my life.  The inevitable moments where God encouraged correction in my life were buffeted by a soft blanket of His comfort and concern surrounding me, making the discussions bearable.”

Yes!  This is so true….bittersweet benefits to this completely open relationship with Jesus.  Even though there is an acute sense of pain in my heart, I am enveloped in His amazing love!

A few months ago, a friend of mine gave me a copy of her favorite songs…songs that became dear to her during a difficult time of cleansing in her life.  These songs all focus on God’s immense love for us…His tender forgiveness…His promises of hope and victory!  Daily, I put on this CD and let God minister to my spirit through music and lyrics which reflect His heart for me…and I am overwhelmed by the way He is revealing Himself to me.

So, although this process of developing a deeper prayer life has exposed ugly areas, and the purifying process is painful, I remain committed to letting prayer change my life….all for His glory!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

