Books That Have Strengthened My Heart

I love books.  You know that about me, but I wanted to mention some books that have I have read over and over again.  I hope that as the years go by, you can add these to your library and have them at hand and let them encourage your heart as they have mine.

A couple of years ago, Pa and Oma gave each of us girls a book called A Perfect Love by Ruth Myers.  I’ve had it sitting here on the bookshelf for quite a while now, but just recently felt prompted to read it, not knowing what it was about.  Oh, God’s perfect timing!  The book is all about God’s personal, overflowing love for me!  I have been struggling with understanding this.  I can fathom that, as a part of mankind, He loves me.  But thinking that He would ever want to spend time with me, just me, is something that I just could not grasp.  I am so thankful for His goodness and sovereignty in bringing along this book at just the right time.

One of the books that I did with my “Sister Chicks” is Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver.  I had written down a quote recently that I think reflected on what I love about that book.  “Jesus is our supreme example.  He was never in a hurry.  He knew who He was and where He was going.  He wasn’t held hostage to the world’s demands ore even its desperate needs. ‘I only do what the Father tells me to do’, Jesus told His disciples.” Oh, how I long to be able to say that of myself!  I really don’t even need to strive to find balance in my life.  My only concern is to be “doing what the Father tells me to do.”  Easy to always do?  No.  But simple?  Yes.

And if I truly put into practice all that I read in Having A Mary Heart, I probably wouldn’t have had to read Worn Out Woman by Dr. Stephens and Alice Gray.  This book was a good way for me to put into words the desperation in my soul for peace and calm and healing in my life.  When we take on responsibilities or tasks that the Father never asked us to do, we find ourselves living a “treadmill” lifestyle.  And that, dear girl, can be so exhausting.  I pray that you will never find yourself in this desperate and discouraging place, but if you do, this book might help you discern the areas of your life that are worth re-examining before the Lord.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

