planted

I remember one of the first plants that Daddy bought me.  He brought it home and told me that this plant was a symbol of our love for one another.  I’m sure that when he said that he was thinking that the plant would thrive.  It would grow and be beautiful.  It would produce pretty little flowers.

{sigh}

I killed that plant.

Not on purpose, of course.  I lacked the knowledge that I needed to take care of it.

Elizabeth George compares our relationship with God to a plant.  And she writes that roots make all the difference to the health of a plant.

In a plant, the roots are unseen. “The greater proportion of your day-your life-spent hidden in quiet, in reflection, in prayer, in study, in scheduling, in preparation, the greater will be the effectiveness, the impact, the power, or the part of your life that shows.”

Roots are for “taking in”.  They take in nourishment from the earth.  We take our nourishment from the Word of God.  As we are nurtured and fed, we insure our health and growth.

Roots are for storage.  We can also store up God’s Word.  We can have a reservoir of what we need.  We have no fear of fiery times, because we will bear fruit faithfully if we have this reservoir within us.

Roots are for support.  With firm, healthy roots that go down deep in the soil of God’s love, no wind can blow us down.

So, what is my “underground” life like?

September 18, 2001

My “underground” life is…

I am learning to consistently take time to spend in God’s Word.  I could spend hours every morning, but I also have the children to take care of.  I have been trying to spend time in prayer at the end of each day, focusing on God and being still before Him.

I am going to schedule time to meditate on God’s Word and memorize Scripture.  I think what I am going to do for both Michaela and I is to keep a 3×5 card binder to keep track of memorized verses.  It will make it easier to review if they are all together in one place.  What is the best time of day to work on Scripture memory?  Hmmm, not sure, but I want to be consistent in this area of my life…it is my desire to store up God’s Word in my heart.

based on Jeremiah 17:5-8  If I trust in the Lord, I will be like a tree planted by water, I will be close to the source of my life.  My roots will be extended, they will go down deep.  I will not fear when the heat comes, I won’t worry when trials come my way, I will just push my roots closer to my water source, and I will continue to bear fruit, even for a prolonged time of trial.  IF I trust the Lord.  If I trust in “man” (or myself) I will only be a BUSH, like a tumbleweed in a barren wasteland.  Lord, I want to stay connected to You, I want to be connected to the TREE of LIFE.
 

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

