{bringing our little one into the world}

Friday, February 3

7:30am  Arrived at the hospital and filled out paperwork

8:15am  Got up to the maternity ward.  I’m in room #403.  Nurse put in the I.V.  This thing in my
hand is very uncomfortable!  I probably won’t even notice once labor starts!

9:30am  Pitocin drip is started.  The nurse said that the “pit” probably wouldn’t even start any
contractions.  I’m not exactly sure how this is going to happen, but it will for sure be a very
long day!  Not sure if Mel will be able to come out…

10:40a   I just called Tania Rich.  She is sending a fax to Mom and Dad to let them know the hospital
phone number and my room number.   My contractions are between 3 and 5 minutes apart.

1:00p     Mel arrived to help me through this all!  (the rest rest of the entries from this day were
recorded by her!  Labor was getting long and I was having a rough time, so she kindly
took over)

5:45p    Doctor broke my water.  I am 2+ cm dilated and 75% effaced.

5:55p    They started magnesium sulfate for the toximia.  I had to use the bedpan a couple of times
(which was very embarrasing!)

9:00p     Bobbie checked me and I’m 3-4cm dilated and 90% effaced.  The contractions have been
between 1.5 and 3 minutes apart.  I wouldn’t mind having some pain medication right now.

10:00p   Got Stadol and it helped for a while.  I slept on and off.  Pain got very bad, so they started
me on nitrous oxide (laughing gas) and I was on that until 12:30am

12:30a    I am 5cm dilated and I WANT an epidural!

1:30a     The anesthesiologist finally got here and did the epidural.  Both Melanie and Chris slept for
a while while Joel picked up Tom and Tonya from the airport.

2:45a      Joel gets back to the hospital with Tom and Tonya.

4:12a     was checked and now I’m 9+ cm dilated!!!!  Nervous about pushing, but I can’t wait to hold
the baby and EAT and sleep!!

6:29a      I pushed Michaela Jeane Tittle into the world  (and after all that, I lost my appetite because
the hospital food was GROSS!)  I pushed for two hours.  I felt like giving up so many times
but I finally did it.  (with the help of  suction on her head)   My little girl is here.

Michaela Jeane Tittle was born at 6:29am on Saturday, February 4.  It was a cold, rainy morning-lovely weather!  Michaela has beautiful rosy skin and dark wavy hair.

She is so beautiful!  And big.  She weighs 8 pounds and 11 ounces and is 20 inches long.  She is a beautiful baby.  Her fingers are so tiny.  She has my ears, Chris’ chin AND his dimples!  She has beautiful little feet.  Her nose is so cute!

I continue to be on Pitocin to help contract my uterus.  I started hemorrhaging right when the placenta was the placenta was delivered.  I’m also still on the magnesium sulfate because of the toxemia.

While my body will never be the same after this delivery, neither will my heart.

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

