{inducing labor in the morning}

Wow.  I can’t believe this!

I went in to the office to see if my water had broken (because I had been having some very watery discharge) and found out that I had developed toxemia in the past week or so.

It can be dangerous, but I’m praising God that we caught it quick.  Because of the danger to both Michaela and me, they are going to induce labor.  It also means that I won’t be able to have my baby at the Birthing Center with Bobbie attending.  I will be at the hospital, where Dr. Climer will also be involved.

Tomorrow morning, we need to be at the hospital at 7:30am.  They will put me on a monitor right away to make sure that the baby is okay.  Then, they will start me on a Pitocin IV drip.  Bobbie will come over around noon to check on me.  She said that when I get to 3-4cm dilated she will break my water.  Generally, a woman will dilate about 1cm per hour.  Once I am dilated to 10cm, I can start pushing, but she told me that they will not let me push more than two hours.  Of course, this is a very general description of labor.  Only God knows how it will actually go.

Uncle Rand just let Auntie Laurie call me and we talked for 15 minutes.  It was so wonderful talking to her!

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

