(Braxton Hicks)

Friday, January 20, 1995

Two and a half weeks until my due date!  I started having some Braxton Hicks contractions.  They are frequent, but haven’t bothered timing them.

We went grocery shopping today and I was SO uncomfortable!  I was having a hard time walking during the contractions.  I called the office and they told me to call Bobbie if the contractions were regular for more than an hour.  I timed the contractions and they were about 5 minutes apart.  So, I called Bobbie and she told me to go to the hospital to be monitored.

Chris was at work, and I didn’t want him to come all the way home unless I was for sure in labor, so I called Mel.  She and Joel brought me to the hospital, where they put me on the monitor.  My contractions slowed down a bit, until the nurse gave me an internal exam.  OUCH!  I was 3/4cm dilated and 80% effaced. 

Chris called and decided to leave work and come to the hospital.  They had me walk for an hour-Mel walked with me (in spite of her morning sickness)  She is due on September 17.

He came to the hospital after showering at home and we walked until 11:30pm.  Then Bobbie checked me-I was still 3/4cm dilated and she said I was about 50% effaced.  They sent me home with orders to rest, drink LOTS of fluids and take a vistaril so I can sleep.

(The vistaril didn’t work.  I didn’t sleep.   My contractions continued.)

Author: Nichole

There are so many things about life that I want to share with my children, and this is simply my way to collect everything in one place.

Leave a Reply

