Tags

, ,

Last week, when I finished reading Jenn Hatmaker’s book “7-an experimental mutiny against excess”, I knew that God was speaking to my heart about the excess in our life.  I was excited, but I wasn’t sure how my family would respond.

My eldest child (and only daughter) and I went for a walk one morning and I was telling her about what I was reading.  Her response…a nervous laugh.  I imagine that losing her ipod and phone were on her mind!

When I told my husband, he responded with “hmm, that’s interesting.” However, a few days later he told me that when I first mentioned the idea of cutting down excess and my reasons for wanting to do so, he knew in his heart that it was the right thing to do.

So, with my husband’s blessing and the cheerful involvement of my children (at least right now), we started our first challenge today.

We are having a rummage sale.  I am ruthlessly going through our house and if I don’t love it or need it, it is going into the rummage sale.  All but seven outfits and a couple miscellaneous clothing items for each of us will go into the rummage sale.

And the heart of this isn’t just to get rid of things we don’t need.  I could easily drop stuff off at Goodwill if that is what God wanted.  But, thankfully, it isn’t.

There are four year old twins in Ethiopia that will soon be adopted by my friend and her family.  “M” and “K” are only 25 pounds each and absolutely precious.  There have been many people that are praying for these little ones and I’m so glad that God gave us these children as the motivation behind our project.

So, sometime in this next month, we will be having a rummage sale and we’ll be able to send off a check to Lifesong for Orphans.  That, my friends, is exciting!

Today we started with the little boys room.  This is what it looked like before we started…

And this is what it looks like now…

they are keeping one “toy” item-their Legos, which are kept in the tub under the “lego table”

empty hangers awaiting shorts for the summer and basket for underclothes and swimtrunks

I’m glad we took the first step of “mutiny against excess”, by getting rid of lots of toys and clothes.  I look forward to tackling the next room, but for the rest of today, I am on ice to settle down this back of mine-which is not very happy right now.  That’s okay, because I am finally getting to watch a certain episode of “Chopped” that my children have been wanting me to watch for a month now!

I don’t know if I’ll finish another project this week, because I get to go spend Friday with my girlfriends, and then the next three days helping my sister pack up her house and get it ready to put on the market.   Next week, I’ll work on another room, but for now, I just look forward to the busy, lovely days ahead!

